Quiet Time: A Special Place

by kingteamdad

Knowing what’s right doesn’t mean much unless you do what’s right.” – Theodore Roosevelt

RAMBLINGS from Evan’s dad – The other morning I saw Evan in the kitchen making his breakfast. I decided to have another cup of coffee and invited him to join me. My morning had opened up, so I had some chill time to just hang out. As he approached the table, the remote control was spotted and he turned on the TV. We talked about the day, but the distractions of the TV kept us from spending any real quality time together. We were there at the table together, and I was enjoying having him in my presence, but there wasn’t a great deal of conversation. He finished his breakfast, I told him I loved him, and off he went.

I wonder how often my quiet times have been done in a similar manner. I go through the motions, I check off the behavior, but I don’t strive to get all I can out of the time together.

Having a special place where I normally do it, does help though. I am a creature of habit, so having a routine that leads me to the same place (my recliner in the corner of our bedroom) every morning helps.

Last night I was up late packing for a trip. This morning I had to leave extra early to catch my flight. Unfortunately, I did not budget the time needed for my quiet time in my regular spot. So I had to have it once I got here to the airport. Never noticed before all the horns for the little carts they give people rides on. I am reading of Jesus’ final hours before His crucifixion. The four little kids across from me are precious, but loud, now that one just fell. Judas has done his betrayal. They make a lot of overhead announcements at the airport. Peter denied Him three times. There are some very interesting people to WATCH at the airport. The rooster crowed. There are some very interesting people to LISTEN to at the airport.

What was that You said Lord?  I couldn’t hear You for the news lady talking on the TV. What Lord?  The little kid is crying again. Oops they are boarding my flight!

Lord, I sure do miss my recliner!

IMG_3949

And when He came to the place, He said to them, “Pray that you may not enter into temptation.” And He withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed,.. (Luke 22: 40-41 ESV)

