Quiet Time: Specific Time

by kingteamdad

Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.  So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:16-18) 

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – I talked to a friend this morning who was tired from a long weekend. When asked what he’d done, he told me he had the youth group at his home two nights earlier, gone to church and then taught a class yesterday, and worked with his youth group again last night. I asked him why he stayed so busy. He first corrected me and told me that he enjoyed it and got a lot of fulfillment from it, so it wasn’t “busy”. He went on to tell me that some scripture in his quiet time years earlier that had really convicted him. He said God kind of nudged him as he read, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few...”(Luke 10:2).

This led us to a discussion on quiet times and what they might look like. His are always in the morning, before his day gets crazy. He told me that he and his wife had been through a lot with their health and the economy. In desperation one morning, years earlier, he had prayed and then gone to the Bible. He said his problems didn’t go away…but they didn’t seem as big the rest of that day. From that morning on, he tried to have a consistent quiet time.

When I asked him how their health and finances are now, he told me the challenges still remain.  He went on to say “They only get too big…on the days I DON’T have my quiet time “….

IMG_1079

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, He got up, went out, and made His way to a deserted place. And He was praying there. (Mark 1:35)

