Why Should You Tithe?

by kingteamdad

Bring all the tithe into the storehouse that there may be food in my house. Test Me in this,” says the Lord, “and see if I won’t throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing you will not have enough room for it.” (Malachi 3:10 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Bear with me while I preach to myself this morning. This is a concept that at least for me, is much easier to grasp when things are good (and there is always money in the checking account). The problem with that is we are giving out of abundance. It’s similar to when the kids were little. If they were walking around with some change in their pocket, they might very well give a penny to a sibling because they had a bunch of other pennies. But if they had nothing, and I gave them 10 pennies, they seldom wanted to give any of their new found bounty away.

Am I that different?  In this economy, I hurt for the churches and ministries out there doing great work. Instead of giving out of the first fruits of our labors, some of us are waiting to give from the spare change rattling around in our pocket. That is not what God is trusting us to do. He is asking us to have faith. Have faith that the Creator of the universe, Who knows intimately the vastness of creation, also knows intimately the needs of our lives. Just like we take care of the needs of our kids (and even some of their wants), God is waiting to do the same thing for us. And just as our kids were transparent when they were little with their feelings, our motivations are transparent to Him.

I remember testing Connor once. I gave him $2 in quarters. A few minutes later I came back and I asked him if I could have a quarter?  He would not give me a quarter….he held his handful of quarters out to me and said “Here daddy”, offering them ALL back to me! Yeah, he passed the test.

Father, please give me that kind of child like faith with our finances!!  In Jesus precious name, Amen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honor the Lord with your possessions and with the first product of your entire harvest; then your barns will be completely filled, and your vats will overflow with new wine. (Proverbs 3:9)

