Do You Have a Budget?

by kingteamdad

But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.  They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream.  It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green.  It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad  In some ways the terrible economy has forced us to be more organized with our budget. We like many, had gotten used to walking into a store to buy one thing, and while on the way to the check out see a second thing, and come home having spent more than we planned.

That wasn’t a problem when I was growing up. The only plastic my folks used was the fly swatter!  They had two things they made purchases with, their check book and cash. When we went to Woolworth to buy clothes, Big Apple to buy groceries, or Coffer Bros. to buy meat, my dad always did a wallet biopsy first. Prior to setting foot in the store, he knew if we had the money to buy what we were in search of. I don’t think they ever walked in for one thing, and came out with any additional unplanned, unbudgeted items.

My dad never made more than $23,000 in a year, yet when he died, he left my mom a nest egg to live on comfortably. I do recall he always provided us with what we truly needed. Even if it meant him and mom going without!

I can only hope that I am able to do the same thing for my family.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The plans of the diligent certainly lead to profit, but anyone who is reckless certainly becomes poor. (Proverbs 21:5)

