Keep Track of Your Finances

by kingteamdad

“Praise the Lord.  Praise the Lord, my soul. I will praise the Lord all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.  Do not put your trust in princes, in human beings, who cannot save. When their spirit departs, they return to the ground; on that very day their plans come to nothing. Blessed are those whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the Lord their God. He is the Maker of heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them—he remains faithful forever.  He upholds the cause of the oppressed and gives food to the hungry. The Lord sets prisoners free, the Lord gives sight to the blind, the Lord lifts up those who are bowed down, the Lord loves the righteous. The Lord watches over the foreigner and sustains the fatherless and the widow, but he frustrates the ways of the wicked. The Lord reigns forever, your God, O Zion, for all generations. Praise the Lord.” (Psalm 146:1-10)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad I must confess that I’d receive a failing grade in this area concerning personal finances.  Some of it has been out of our control, with business, the economy, and investments. But some of it is due to poor planning on my part. My optimistic outlook works great in sales, but can stink in personal finances. The eternal optimist invested the money for the future on things, that to date, have not panned out. I grieve the ministry opportunities we have missed out on because we were not in a position financially to play a part in something God was doing. Does the God Who owns the cattle of a 1000 hills need my finances? Not one penny! No more than He needs my help in saving a soul.

God is a loving, merciful and caring God. Just like I used to let the kids when they were small “help” me hammer nails into things, God lets us be a part of His work. But if I am not available because I don’t have the financial freedom to do something ministry related, God is not missing out, I am. Someone more faithful in their finances will get that blessing, because they were available, when I was not.

Father, You know my heart, please give me my heart’s desire.  With Your wisdom,  help me get to that place again with my finances, where You can use me. In Jesus wonderful name, Amen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Know well the condition of your flock, and pay attention to your herds, for wealth is not forever… (Proverbs 27:23)

