Give Your Attention to Jesus

by kingteamdad

God creates out of nothing. Wonderful you say. Yes, to be sure, but He does what is still more wonderful: He makes saints out of sinners. ― The Journals of Kierkegaard

Ramblings from Evan’s dad  Recently Kris told me that while she and Evan were in the car, they heard a “sound” the wheels were making driving down the road. I asked her if it was when she put on the brakes, and the reply was “no, just driving down the road.” I drove it later with four or five kids in the car and heard nothing. We did however, enjoy some Toby Mac busting from the speakers. I dropped the kids off, and listened to tunes between phone calls, but heard no more “sounds”.

A week later Kris told me she heard a louder “sound” while driving Evan to school, and was pretty certain it was the brakes. Women! I had already driven it and heard nothing. But to pacify  her, I drove it with yet again, a car full of teenagers in it. This time I quickly heard the metal on metal sound when applying brakes, and knew that some new rotors were in my future. I turned all the noise off and told the kids to be quiet and listen. The grinding noise they heard at the traffic light, I pointed out was an expensive sound effect NOT desired. The next day I was paying the garage for a brand new pair of brakes and rotors for our suv.

I wonder how many times the Holy Spirit has quietly tried to speak to me or warn me, yet I drowned it out with the things of the world? Not until the grinding of metal on metal, did God get my attention. By then, when I finally did tune out the world, I had a much more expensive lesson in life…

IMG_2675

Jesus answered,“If you knew the gift of God, and who is saying to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would ask Him, and He would give you living water.”  (John 4:10)

