Come to Worship Jesus

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Connor’s dad– Growing up I went to Union Grove Baptist Church, a little bitty independent Baptist church. My dad’s great-grandfather helped build it. It was filled with some of the sweetest people, many of whom were related to me in some way. There were saints there like my dad, who when called on to pray, didn’t just say “Hot dog, Amen”, but instead poured their hearts out to God. They weren’t perfect, but they worshipped the One who is. They knew Jesus was and is God Incarnate, and that He died for our sins and is the Savior of the world.

Somehow I, for the most part, shook that off growing up. The preacher most of the time to me, sounded like the adults in Charlie Brown cartoons. I picked what I wanted to hear and apply, from the “rules and regulations”. Jesus in my eyes was more like a school Principal. He was someone to try and trick, and twist the rules with the “King Ted” version of the Bible. I would have been a good Pharisee, acting pious and holier than thou, but in reality I was a lying, cheating, manipulating fake (and that was on my good days!). If I had been with the Wise Men, I’m sure I would have kept a little of the gifts for myself, after all, a baby wouldn’t need all that!

After college I started using God and His big house, First Baptist Atlanta, as a vending machine. It was a big church with 1500 singles, many of whom were nice, attractive, young women. I might have grown up in the country, but I knew what a target rich environment looked like.

One Sunday night I went to meet a young lady, but when I pulled the lever, instead of a young lady, out popped Jesus into my life! Why He would have bothered with saving me, I don’t know!  I was not a pretty person on the inside. Yet, the all knowing God of all creation, said “yes, I’ll take even him”. He cleaned me up and changed my life. I finally understood why the Wise Men would have gone to all that trouble.

Unlike the Wise Men, I did not plan on meeting Jesus that night. There was no planning on my part, and to say I was ill-prepared would be an understatement! All I had with me on that night to give Him…was my heart….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Where is He who has been born King of the Jews? For we saw His star in the east and have come to worship Him.” (Matthew 2:2) 

