Don’t Stop Until You Meet Jesus

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Evan’s dad Last week Kris had a major flair up with her rheumatoid arthritis and had to be hospitalized for a few days. Sitting in the room, keeping an eye on her, gave me the time to reflect. I saw the distractions in my life that weren’t necessarily bad, but kept me from what was good. Even there, I had a few fires at work I had to put out. But removed from the office, and working from the hospital, things were definitely put into perspective.

At one point I took a call in the 5th floor waiting room. It had a wonderful view of the area, and the parking lot below. I watched as people came and went. It was cold outside and they sometimes made poor choices on where to park. They didn’t have the perspective that I had from 5 floors up. They often were on the phone, took the first spot they saw and parked too close to the car next to them. They were distracted.

It’s amazing what happens when you stop focusing on your little world, open your eyes and ask people whats going on in their world. They give you some non-answer…until they see you looking them in the eyes and realize you are actually interested in their world.  The answers change, and you go from getting a non-answer, to a answer often filled with hurt and struggle. Those questions were asked in a hospital room, and on an elevator, and in the gift shop. Pretty mundane places, kind of like the stalls and stables of life. Rick Warren says you find Jesus in the “stuff” of life.

My prayer is people see Jesus in my life today, wherever I am. I pray they find Him while they are stomping along in the smelly stables of life.

Lord, help me not be so busy, that I miss the opportunity to be used by You today….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After hearing the king, they went on their way. And there it was — the star they had seen in the east! It led them until it came and stopped above the place where the child was. When they saw the star, they were overjoyed beyond measure. Entering the house, they saw the child with Mary His mother, and falling to their knees, they worshiped Him. Then they opened their treasures and presented Him with gifts: gold, frankincense, and myrrh. (Matthew 2:9-11)

