Your Schedule Needs Some Buffer

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Kris’ husband – There are so many things I would have done differently when we started our company. I had worked hard for three different medical companies over 25 years. When we started, I suddenly determined that the 10 hours a day I was used to, wasn’t enough. I found myself getting up earlier to get started, coming home to eat dinner, and getting back on the computer to work until 10 or 11 at night. Saturdays were no better!

Kris walked into the bedroom one night, as I was busily working on my computer. She announced to me that she wished we had never started our blossoming company. I remember proudly pointing out that our income was going up, and we were enjoying a much nicer lifestyle. She told me something strange. She said the new success was not worth the cost of “losing” me. Things went from a dad/husband typically being at home for the day by 6:30; to dad/husband appearing for dinner, and disappearing again.  She told me we needed to set parameters, to have some checks and balances. I made the mistake of asking for suggestions…she obviously had been thinking about it! Over the next hour we came up with some suggestions for me. I have massaged them over time but they look something like this.

6am-9am: personal time for growth and ministry.

9am-6:30pm: WORK   (7:00pm turn “work” computer off)

Saturdays: turn “work” off by noon

Sundays: time for God, family and church

I’ve have built in 10% of my waking hours for ministry. With that time available, mentally I am open to opportunities to meet with guys to talk about their life, and guilt-free find ways to serve Him.

When I stick to that schedule, I hope Kris would say things go well. She would probably also say when I let work begin to encroach on that schedule, it hurts me…and more importantly, it hurts the family.

I wonder what God would say, if I asked Him?…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The fear of the Lord prolongs life, but the years of the wicked are cut short. (Proverbs 10:27)

