Commit to Regular Exercise

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – I was just talking yesterday with a friend about the first race I ever ran. It was a simple little 5K in Augusta, Ga.  I had recently gotten back into running. I would go out and run 4 to 5 times a week along the canal.  I ran the race…and thought I was going to die!  I took off too fast (ignorance), tried to stay at that pace (pride), and by the end had nothing left, and all but crawled across the finish line.

Thirty years later I have run multiple races from 10K to Marathons.  I can assure you I didn’t just wake up one day and decide to run 26.2 miles. I ran with some guys much smarter than me, and we built up to it gradually.  We did some speed work at the track, and I limited my running to 4-5 times a week, so my body could recover. Running with that group of friends, I will admit there were mornings I did not feel like running, but still ran. Why? I knew they were waiting on me.

At least for me, if there is accountability, its harder NOT to do what I NEED to be doing. That’s true with small group bible study for spiritual training, and its true for physical training, too. I didn’t just wake up one morning and run the Chicago Marathon. I did it after months of building up my daily mileage, eating healthy, and getting rest. I didn’t just get up one day and have the Navigator’s Topical Memory System  memorized. I did it after years of meeting Dr. Jim once a week, studying God’s word, and memorizing scripture.

I love the Bill Murray/Richard Dreyfus movie “What about Bob”. In the movie, Dreyfus plays a psychiatrist and Murray plays a multiphobic patient. One of the great pearls in counseling was uttered in that movie, “baby steps”.

Speaking of “baby steps”, I think I might start weight lifting today. I am going to start with 350 on the bench press!…

photo

 

 And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near. (Hebrews 10:24-25 ESV)

