Hear God: Eliminate the Distractions

by kingteamdad

And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper. (1 Kings 19:12 NLT)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad Wow, have I had some distractions these past few days. Not all of them bad. We had 32 teenagers from our church spend Friday and Saturday night at our house for our U-Turn Youth weekend. It was a great time of seeing our High School Seniors carve out some time to focus on God. We asked them to turn their phones off, leave the tv’s in the house off, and listen. Many of them spent their free time in small groups talking about eternal things. A few, though, could not. The draw was too strong. They laid their bibles down after a few minutes, and picked up their phone to text and Facebook. Two others picked up the game controller for the next few hours, while two more watched the game.

I am reminded of my own struggles. To find time where my world is quiet and still, I have to get up early. If I don’t, life starts happening. One desire I have is to memorize more scripture. I was convicted this weekend with our speaker talking about the seriousness my jewish friends have with hiding in their heart the first five books of the Old Testament. I don’t know five verses in each of those five books! I need to sit down and spend more time on things eternal. But to spend time on things eternal, I can’t be vacillating back and forth between my Bible and my work computer. I’ve tried and soon realized why Jesus got up early in the morning when it was still dark to spend time with his Father.

There goes my phone ringing with one of my co-workers needing me. That reminds me I definitely need to check my email and see where our sales numbers are for the month. Did I just hear the TV get turned on in the other room?….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Other seed fell among thorns; the thorns sprang up with it and choked it. (Luke 8:7)

 

