It’s Essential to Hear God

by kingteamdad

Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, and everywhere you go; He’s the one who will keep you on track.” (Proverb 3:6 MSG)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – When I was growing up, we didn’t have cell phones. We had car horns. Yep, you heard me. We lived out in the country and spent a lot of time outside. My uncle across the road had 20 acres and a lake. My cousin next door had 50 acres and a lake. The people behind us had 200 acres and 3 lakes.  I knew roughly what time we had to be home for dinner and learned to “watch the watch”.

If there was ever a time we were needed earlier, mom would go outside and call us. Well, if we were very far away I would not hear her calling “Ta-ed”. If I did hear her, we would yell back. This line of communications only worked so far. If she didn’t get a response from us, she pulled out the big gun. That’s right, she would blow the car horn. Three honks with the car horn traveled a long way in the country!  If we heard the horn, we were high tailing it back toward the house. Suffice it to say, we kept our ears open. Our “bottoms” did not want our ears to miss a “call” from home.

Wouldn’t it be nice if our ears were trained to be as sensitive to God’s attempts to tell us something?

PC280388

Recently Connor and I hiked the approach trail to the Appalachian Trail. We were almost 4 miles into the hike and called Kris on my cell phone. When we talked to her, she told us she was able to track us on the phone. We’ve come a long way with communications since then. These wonderful things only work though, if we take the time to use them.

God is an incredible loving Father. He is all knowing, all seeing, and everywhere. He is not a God that typically yells or blows car horns. He is more likely to whisper. He is not likely to force Himself on us. He wants us to hear Him, but much like a teacher in class wants our attention: If we want to hear Him, we need to be quiet and listen.

Sometimes though, I wish He would use a car horn!….

IMG_4685

My sheep hear My voice, I know them, and they follow Me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish — ever! No one will snatch them out of My hand. (John 10: 27-28)

