Laughs, Help Us Last

by kingteamdad

“If we couldn’t laugh we would all go insane.” ― Robert Frost

Ramblings from Evan’s dad To the best of my knowledge, no where in the Bible does it describe Jesus laughing. There is very little about Him as a child, and if His childhood was even remotely like mine, then I am confident He laughed! But why doesn’t the scripture mention it when He was an adult. Maybe one reason was the Jewish culture at the time. They were not a free people, being ruled by the Roman empire.

Of course another reason could have been Jesus knew how the story would play out, and understood that a horrendous crucifixion, where He would be weighted down with the sins of the world, was in His future. We did however, see many moments of compassion in His ministry. Time after time He would stop to speak with an individual, and heal them. We see where He took the time just before He was betrayed (and then tortured and killed) to wash His disciples feet. I would like to think in at least some of those earlier times when He was hanging out with His men, that He was able to laugh.

I know His Father likes laughter, because He wired it into many of us. I think I was born laughing and joking around. I don’t think that I just woke up one day and decided to be like that.

Some might say its environmental. Maybe mine was caused by Uncle Andrew, my mom’s brother who was a jokester. He loved Jesus.

Maybe my dad influenced me. I know there were times he had a good belly laugh. My dad loved Jesus.

Or maybe it rubbed off from Dr. Jim. I know there were many times when he and I met, that he ended up laughing about something. He loves Jesus, too.

Evan just brought me my second cup of coffee. He told me as he handed it to me that we ran out of coffee, so he used hot water. I thought he was serious…he wasn’t. He loves Jesus, too.

Hmm, every one of them love Jesus and find reasons to laugh.  I can’t help but believe that makes Him laugh a little…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A joyful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit dries up the bones. (Proverbs 17: 22)

