Good Health Is God’s Prescription

by kingteamdad

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord and shun evil. This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones. Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the firstfruits of your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing .” (Proverbs 3:5-10 NIV)

Ramblings from Kris’ husband What if I could have a pill that would give me total TRUST in God?  No more doubts when things are going bumpy. No more reminders to take Philippians 4:6-7 at face value. No more prayers asking God to forgive me for my doubt. I can not even begin to think what my life would have been like since we started our company, if I had a pill I could have taken every morning that would give me total trust in Him. There have been many times I’ve lost sleep worrying about things, things that He knew about. Things that He could fix, delete, grow, or change with a mere thought. Yet I worried.

What would my life look like if every moment of every day Proverbs 3:5 was written on my heart? “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”  Did my lack of faith add bumps and hair pin turns to my path?

We were taking the RV to Yosemite a few years ago. I had to drive up a very windy road with sharp switchbacks. The front passenger seat puts Kris ahead of the front tire. On very sharp curves, it puts her out over the edge of the road, giving her the illusion that we are running off the road even though the tire’s firmly on the pavement.

Numerous times she found herself looking down several hundred feet. I knew what I was doing, but after screaming the 4th or 5th time, she got up out of the seat and went to the back. She didn’t have the ability to get her mind to trust me, based on what her eyes were seeing.

Am I that different with God? I often sit there and worry, maybe even scream at times, when God has the tires firmly on the road, but I can’t see the whole picture, the ETERNAL picture. The view driving up to Yosemite was breathtaking…in fact there were several times it took Kris’ breath away!! 🙂

Today, I am going to climb over to the passenger seat, roll down the window, see where God wants to take me, and just try to enjoy the view….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My son, don’t forget my teaching, but let your heart keep my commands; for they will bring you many days, a full life, and well being. (Proverbs 3:12)

