Take Care of Your Body

by kingteamdad

Everything is permissible for me, but not everything is helpful. Everything is permissible for me, but I will not be brought under the control of anything.” (1 Corinthians 6:12-20 HCSB)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad:  Last night Lacy and I went to a friends house and bought his used computer. Our friend Josh, is a computer whiz who required an even faster computer for his work. Lacy was the lucky benefactor because of his needed upgrade. As we were going over the nuances of this particular model, he went into great detail about “wiping it clean”. He had purged it of everything, reminding me of the old GIGO acronym, for garbage in-garbage out.  He assured us that it is now in pristine condition like it came from the factory.  (I’m sure there is a sermon in there somewhere.)

If we are followers of Jesus, then our body is the temple of God, and the Spirit of God lives in us.  (1 Corinthians. 3:16) I think most of us would agree that to go in and desecrate a place of worship would be horrible. Can you imagine going in and dumping garbage everywhere?  Yet many of us do it over and over with our bodies (and minds).

We do it with what we EAT.

We do it with what we DRINK.

We do it when we are a COUCH POTATO.

We even do it with what we LISTEN to and WATCH.

For those of us who follow Christ, we need to start treating our body’s and mind’s with the same respect we do our places of worship.

Father, help me today begin working on getting my “temple” cleaned up to a point, where Your Holy Spirit will thrive, and not just exist. Help me recognize garbage for what it is, and stop putting it in my temple. Help me to keep it in as pristine condition as possible, to honor You. In Jesus wonderful name, amen.

4057880713_303ec97607_o

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. (1 Corinthians 6:19-22)

