We Know God’s Truth Through Conscience

by kingteamdad

Even Gentiles, who do not have God’s written law, show that they know His law when they instinctively obey it, even without having heard it. They demonstrate that God’s law is written in their hearts, for their own conscience and thoughts either accuse them or tell them they are doing right.” (Romans 2:14-15 NLT)

Rambling’s from Connor’s dad As a believer, I am convicted by this. Many will cross my path this week, who do not know Christ. But Paul tells me in the passage above that we all know or sense the truth through our conscience. What if someone knows I am a Christian, is being drawn through their conscience toward Jesus, and because I might be having a bad day and not acting very Christ-like, I become a stumbling block for them. They sense the Truth, but then look at me for comparison or confirmation on what they should seek or do, and BAM, I get in the way, instead of helping them along to find the Truth.

Imagine there are 100 92 year olds lined up trying to cross the street (probably some geriatric meeting in town). I come along and am in a hurry, and my actions are going to be watched by those behind me, sensing the truth, but looking for confirmation. I pray when those situations do come up, that I won’t be so caught up in my life, that I don’t take a minute to help them in theirs. Heck, I bet Jesus would take the time to go back and forth and help each one of the 100, and spend time with each one, just like He did with the woman at the well. And, I need to remember, He’s not just some slacker with nothing else to do, He is the Son of God, co-creator of the universe.

Does God need me to help Him in this…No! The Bible tells me He has legions of angels. If need be, the rocks will cry out in testimony of His greatness.

But, He does allow us the chance to be used by Him. I pray that I am found usable by Him today….

IMG_3246

So, when Gentiles, who do not have the law, instinctively do what the law demands, they are a law to themselves even though they do not have the law. They show that the work of the law is written on their hearts. Their consciences confirm this. Their competing thoughts will either accuse or excuse them… (Romans 2:14-15)

