Knowing God’s Truth Through Creation

by kingteamdad

“The basic reality of God is plain enough. Open your eyes and there it is! By taking a long and thoughtful look at what God has created, people have always been able to see what their eyes as such can’t see: eternal power, for instance, and the mystery of his divine being. So nobody has a good excuse.” Romans 1:19-20 (MSG)

Rambling’s from Lacy’s dad Today’s world with the internet and technology makes things easier and harder at the same time. Way back when I was growing up, I would see my parents read their Bible at night. I had the distraction of TV and watching exciting shows like The Dukes of Hazard and The Carol Burnett Show. The phone might occasionally ring, and one of us would go into the kitchen to answer our’s hanging on the wall. If I wanted to look up Angora, I would go over to our encyclopedias, and look it up.

Today we literally have the internet at our fingertips 24/7. I now read comments and look at pictures my friend Grant posted, seconds after he did so…in Angora. The information is there for us, but so is the distractions.

I was talking to an associate yesterday about the constant “stuff” we have in our lives. He mentioned how we used to mail something to someone and then wait for them to get it. The picture I just saw of Grant would have taken weeks to get, only a few years ago. We have so much coming at us today, its harder to stop and smell the roses. I mean you might miss three text messages while your smelling.

Is todays technology bad? Not necessarily, it depends how we use it, or how we let it use us. Does it help us understand the love of our Heavenly Father better, and what His Son did for us? Or does it distract us, or worse yet, pull us away from Him?

I have to do more of what Grant was doing. In his picture, he was outside enjoying the beauty of a snow covered mountain. As I looked at it I marveled at God’s creation. Mentally, I stepped out on that deck with him, felt the crisp mountain air, and drank in the view. In that moment, I paused, enjoyed creation, and thanked the Creator. I need to do that more often.

IMG_5056  “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” (Isaiah 41:10)

