Willpower Only Produces Short-term Change

by kingteamdad

“Let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.” (Romans 12:2 NLT)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad  If you think I’m bad now, you should have known me before I found Jesus. I was selfish, prideful, and always had to one up someone else’s story with someone or something I knew or did. It frightens me to think about how obnoxious I was.

Yet, soon after my course changed, and I started following Christ, Dr. Jim came into my life. As we met each week, he would point me to the Bible. I would come in each morning wanting to talk about whatever I thought was important. He would patiently listen, and then eventually he would get us looking at scripture. His patience was amazing considering week after week I came in with the worldly “concern de jour”. Concerned with what new car I needed, or what new clothes I needed, or wanting to tell him who important I had met in the last week. Thinking back to those says, I love that man even more for putting up with me.

Dr. Jim had poured over the writings in the Bible, and like Romans 12:2 promises, he was transformed by renewing his mind, and through that transformation he knew what was truly important. He realized what was the good and reasonable, and perfect will of God.

Because of that transformation, God gave him the patience to put up with me, and s-l-o-w-l-y over time, I started to turn my “boat”. Eventually it was no longer heading due SELF, and instead turned in the general direction of JESUS. I still have to keep my eyes on Him as I grip the wheel, otherwise the world begins to distract me, and pulls me off course. Am I perfect? No. In fact, if you’re anything like me, even after finding Jesus, you still have a LONG way to go. Finding someone like Dr. Jim to keep pointing you back to the Bible, can help you make that change….

Lacy and Mad 3

Guard your heart above all else, for it is the source of life. Don’t let your mouth speak dishonestly, and don’t let your lips talk deviously. Let your eyes look forward; fix your gaze straight ahead. Carefully consider the path for your feet, and all your ways will be established. (Proverbs 4:23-26)

