Spiritual Growth is a Collaborative Effort

by kingteamdad

Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure. (Philippians 2:12-13)

Rambling’s from Connor’s dad I equate my spiritual growth and health, to a friend of mine’s physical growth and health. Last year he was competing for a body building competition. He was working out a little while in the morning, and then working out again for several hours in the evening. I biked and worked out Saturday (for maybe an hour), but didn’t get to work out yesterday (Monday). Did I mention he worked out something everyday? He was methodical on arms, shoulders, lats, neck, pecs, abs, quads, calves, etc. Each had specific exercises, a specific number each time, for a specific number of times. I have a pretty simple workout doing a little cardio and maybe 5 different exercises with dumb bells, typically until I am tired, or other commitments start calling me.

He would walk into the office with all this special lean, no carb, no taste food. We would go out and get a good BLT. I would drink a soda, while he drank a protein drink. When asked, he would go into great detail why he was putting into his body what he was eating and drinking. He was smart enough to know what he needed to do on the inside and the outside to get the results he wanted. The result was my body fat I am sure was north of 20%, while his was down around 4%. Its safe to assume, if we stood side by side in shorts and a tank top, you could tell us apart.

Isn’t spiritual growth the same way. We need to be diligent about spending time in the word and in prayer talking with our Heavenly Father everyday (or as close to everyday as possible). We also need to watch what we take in with our mouth…but also what we take in with our ears and our eyes….

IMG_4719

So then, my dear friends, just as you have always obeyed, not only in my presence, but now even more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. For it is God who is working in you, enabling you both to desire and to work out His good purpose. (Philippians 2:12-13)

 

