A Powerful Key to Prayer

by kingteamdad

Whenever two of you on earth agree about anything you pray for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven. For where two or three come together in my name, I am there with them.” (Matthew 18:19-20 TEV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad My mind goes back 20 years ago when Dr. Jim would meet with me bright and early on Monday mornings to study the Bible. I still remember the first time we were leaving the restaurant, he asked me if I had time to pray. I said sure, so we walked to my car, me not knowing what to expect. He climbed in the passenger side, asked me what he could be praying for, and then went to town talking to a God he obviously knew very well! The whole time he prayed with his hands in his lap and head downward facing straight ahead (I might have peeked once or twice.) I sat there, self consciously with my head turned toward him so anyone walking by would think we were talking. I mean after all, we were in downtown Atlanta, with important business people walking in and out of the restaurant, right by my window. Slowly, I mean “months slowly”, I began to focus more on WHO we were praying to, then who was walking around us. It finally dawned on me that we had an audience with the King of Kings!

Dr. Jim taught this ole country boy so much. He taught me to pray when I was in public, when I was alone, early in the morning, in the middle of surgery, while holding a newborn baby, with a group of men, while watching the news, well you get the idea. He told me prayer should be like a hacking cough, do it all the time. He taught me from this scripture, telling me that praying with others, seems to magnify or amplify the prayer.

He also told me that where 2 or 3 are gathered in Jesus name, He would be there with them. How bout that?!? When we pray with others, Jesus is one of our prayer partners!!

Dr. Jim understands the power of prayer. The incredible opportunity to communicate 24-7 with the most important Being in the …EVERYTHING! The enemy tries to distract us, or minimize it, or make us self-conscious about it, as if there is something wrong. I guarantee you that 20 years ago when we were praying, if it had been some famous celebrity or sports figure I was talking to, I would have been repeating their name loudly so that everyone within a 2 block area would have known with whom I was speaking!

P8070039

Father I am so ashamed at my actions!  You deserve my praise and total devotion for what You and Your Son have done for me.  Please forgive me and help me be a light for You every day I have left here. Thank You for loving me, regardless of how little I have loved You!  You are worthy of my praise. Thank You for always being there to hear my prayers!  In Jesus wonderful name, amen.

