Give God Your Hurts

by kingteamdad

If you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive the wrongs you have done.” (Matthew 6:15 TEV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad: This is one of those passages that is easy to read…but hard to implement. You are wronged by someone. You read this passage. You continue to read. You absorb what you just read. Fresh, painful, real memories flood your mind. “Lord, You want me to do WHAT?!?!”

It’s easy to tell others to do this. I mean, if they are going to follow Christ, they need to forgive. But you and I are different! Our hurts, hurt worse, because we were REALLY wronged.

I have to admit that I have not been beaten, flogged, mocked, tormented, and then had nails driven through my feet and hands, as my bear, raw, bleeding skin is thrown up against a rough splinter-filled cross, where I am to be hung to suffer, until I die of asphyxiation. I wouldn’t be able to forgive my captors, especially since they stand beside me, laughing at me and mocking me, while they wait for me to die!  Since Jesus did, I guess we need to take Him seriously when He tells us we are to do the same thing.

We, like many others, have been wronged in business. The financial losses alone, are enough to make one loose sleep at night. Time and time again we have had people tell us something, later finding out they were literally lying to our face. It took time to get to a point where I could pray about it, and NOT ask God to strike them down. It was a process, getting to a point where I could pray FOR them. I didn’t always want to, but knew that was what I was supposed to do.

These people lied to me, they wronged us. They hurt our business financially…but…they didn’t beat me, they didn’t flog me, they didn’t drive nails through my hands and feet, and they did not hang me on a cross to die a slow and painful death. Over time I would begin to pray for them. It was no secret to God that I did not like them, or what they did. But I continued to pray for them. A strange thing happened over time, my heart softened toward them. My prayers came easier, and I was able to forgive them. God allowed a healing to take place! But, it did take time…and prayer.

As the very wise philosopher, Kris King says, “Feelings – follow actions”.  And they do….

On the way to Mexico, 10/2004

For if you forgive people their wrongdoing, your heavenly Father will forgive you as well. But if you don’t forgive people, your Father will not forgive your wrongdoing. (Matthew 6:14-15)

