Fruit Grows From Spiritual Seeds

by kingteamdad

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. (Galatians 5:22-23)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad  I am on a journey with Connor, and beginning the same journey with Evan. Years ago I read a book by Robert Lewis called “Raising a Modern Day Knight”. It’s an excellent book that provides a unique approach to shaping boys into men by equipping them with three essential elements: a vision, a code of conduct, and a cause in which to invest their life.

This has been a road we have been taking through the teenage years. It was not a weekend getaway where I gave Connor a sword after two nights in the woods. He understood it was something we would take our time with, the finish line off in the distance. There have been teaching moments regarding knights around a dinner, a hike, or a campfire. They don’t take place monthly necessarily, but they come along periodically with purpose. Sometimes something will be done or said, and the question will be asked “Is that something a Knight would do?” The point is always taken, and the action corrected. Not just because its important to me and Kris, but as a Knight in training, it’s becoming important to the boys.

Kris, and Lacy (sometimes reluctantly:), have benefited from the chivalry we are teaching around the home. The final milestone will be a big dinner when college is completed, where each will be knighted, and given a ring. For both boys it will be roughly a 10 year journey.

I think God let me discover that book so I could be reminded that this Christian journey I am on is no different. My walk did not reach maturity after a weekend getaway. God knows I have to learn things a little at a time. He gives me teachable moments, and if I am attentive, He doesn’t have to repeat the lesson too many times.

Hopefully, as I am slowly formed into who He wants me to be, those around me will benefit from the Christ-like qualities I learn. It is something that will take time, and ultimately the  finish line is when I “graduate”, and draw my last breath here. My goal is to hear my King say “well done, good and faithful servant”…

IMG_5050

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. (Hebrews 11:1)

