When You Pray, Give God Your Life

by kingteamdad

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19) 

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – There is a lot to be found in Matthew 6.  Jesus talks about giving to the needy, prayer, treasures in heaven, and not worrying. He encourages us to give to the needy, pray, and to fast, quietly, not drawing attention to ourselves. I guess it would prove to be counterproductive to do something good in Jesus name, or because God wants us to, and the whole time be doing it in a way that screams “LOOK AT ME! I AM SUCH A GOOD PERSON!”  We just took the focus and credit off of God.

It would be like me giving one of my kids $100 to quietly get to someone, and them turn all the lights on, get up on the stage and call that person up, saying they felt impressed to give them “ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS!!!” Kinda puts all the focus on them.

Toward the end of the 6th chapter He tells us not to worry about what we are going to eat, or what we are going to wear. He tells us to seek first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness, and these things shall be added to us.

Today I am going to strive to be in His will, and give God my life, for at least a moment. If for that moment, I can point the focus toward Him, maybe, just maybe, I can be selfless enough to do it again at some point today. I will try and not have the spotlights on me, and instead, step in the shadows and let them shine on my Savior. Then tomorrow, I am going to try to do it again, several times. Maybe if God is patient enough with me, I can make it a habit and attitude.

In those moments, I will be seeking His Kingdom and His righteousness, and giving my life to Him. And in those moments I hope to make Him smile!

Family photo 1

Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven. (Matthew 6:10)

