Be Yourself with God

by kingteamdad

The key is this: Meet today’s problems with today’s strength. Don’t start tackling tomorrow’s problems until tomorrow. You do not have tomorrow’s strength yet. You simply have enough for today.”  Max Lucado

Rambling’s from Connor’s dad– I grew up listening to all types of praying styles. There was the quick “Hotdog, amen” prayer that our cousin Barry used to pray when we were little. At the ripe old age of 8, he was more interested in the food. Then there were the long one’s I would hear that were repeated every time, pretty much verbatim. When they got to some certain lines, I knew they were finally wrapping it up.

Can you imagine having a loved one call you every day and literally have the same conversation with you. Somewhere around day 6, I would be thinking to myself  “why bother going through the motions?” (How should I feel at day 346?) Isn’t that what some of us do. We go through the motions, repeating the same “lead me”, “protect me”, “bless me”, it’s all about ME prayers. We then hang up, check that off our list, and go about our day. Prayer should be more conversational with our Creator. They don’t have to be an hour long each time. They can be short. But we need to make them sincere.

Now, there are some things I want communicated to God every time I pray with the kids. God always hear me pray that they will encourage other believers, and He always hears me pray that they will be a light to the lost and unbelieving. One reason I do that is I want my kids to know that is my heart’s desire.

Matthew 6:5-15 addresses how we should and shouldn’t pray.  The disciples (and us, too) are even given an example by Jesus. Growing up I prayed that prayer many times on the football field before a game with the team.  Not once did I mean it or think about it, I was going through the motions the same way I’d put my mouthguard in before stepping on the field. There are days during my quiet time now that I will say the prayer…but now I think about the verses and what they mean. It really is a wonderful prayer.

Our Father in heaven,  (Your not just God our Creator, You are our heavenly Father)
hallowed be Your name. (Your name is worthy of our praise)
Your Kingdom come,  (Father I want to see the magnificence and perfection of Heaven, here)
Your will be done,  (I pray that Your all knowing, all seeing, perfect will, will be done…)
on Earth as in heaven  (…here on this sin filled earth just like it is in Your perfect home)
Give us today our daily bread. (Please provide for us today, as You have faithfully each day prior)
Forgive us our sins, (Please forgive us for all our shortcomings)
as we forgive those who sin against us. (We will forgive those who have wronged us, even if we aren’t happy about it)
Lead us not into temptation, (Keep us from stumbling)
but deliver us from evil. (Please place a hedge of protection around us and keep us from evil)
For the kingdom,   Everything….
the power and the glory are Yours.  Everything…is YOURS…
Now and forever!   Today, ten thousand years from now, even ten thousand thousand years from now!! ) 

IMG_4439

Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be your name, Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on Earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil… (Matthew 6:9-13)

