Get Your Priorities Straight

by kingteamdad

To educate a person in the mind but not in morals is to educate a menace to society.” ― Theodore Roosevelt

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad  In Genesis God gives us a good model for us of a work schedule. We read that He labored 6 days making creation; the heavens, the earth, Adam, Eve, and the animals. It then tells us on the 7th day, He rested. Now I don’t know about you, but I picture God as the true super-dad. He CAN do anything. He IS stronger then your dad. We read that He is everywhere, knows everything, see’s everything, and is all powerful. I am no Einstein, but I think He could have made creation 3 more times on the 7th day if He wanted to. Why then did He rest? Was he pooped? Did He need to sit down in His recliner, rest and read the sports page? No.

I think He did it for the same reason I do things for my kids sometimes. I am modeling for them what I think will benefit them. Kris reminds me when I am driving, that I am modeling..:-/ I believe God, who knows everything, knew that left to ourselves, we would try to cram 8 days of stuff in to 7. I know parents who literally work all day, only to be a taxi driver for their kids EVERY evening, AND on weekends. They rush at 90 miles an hour for years…and then one day wake up and the journey is over. What ever that journey may be, they didn’t pull over or slow down enough to smell the roses.

As Kris and I learned years ago, when it comes to schedules and time, saying “Yes” to something, is saying “No” to something else. I have to remind myself of that often. So the next time you are going to say “yes” to something, think about what you might be saying “No” to…

IMG_4610

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.  (Matthew 11:28-30)

