Perspective Protects Us

by kingteamdad

Then we will no longer be like children, forever changing our minds about what we believe because someone has told us something different or has cleverly lied to us and made the lie sound like the truth.” (Ephesians 4:14 LB)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad   I told Evan that I often feel like Forrest, Forrest Gump. One of his famous lines is “Momma sez ….” and then goes on to tell what he learned from his momma.

I surprise myself at how often I repeat something Dr. Jim taught me. Several times when meeting with him, I showed up with a book that I wanted us to read because I heard it might enlighten us more on God and Jesus. Dr. Jim would always show interest and then eventually say “Let’s look at God’s Word, and see what IT says”. He would encourage me to think of the pages in the Bible as letters God sent us to learn more about how much He loves us. He would then remind me about the Secret Service and counterfeit money. He told me they were very good at recognizing “funny money”… because they constantly studied and knew everything about real money. By intimately knowing what a real $100 bill looked like, they could easily recognize a fake.

He told me by studying God’s Word, I would learn to easily recognize the truth. We would meet and look at a verse, memorize it, dissect it, and fully understand the context it came from. In fact, he wouldn’t even want me to take his word on something, he would ask me to compare it to what the Bible said. It wasn’t always exciting, but it was effective.

Slowly, I found myself  becoming more like Ephesians 4:14, no longer like children, forever changing my mind about what I believe because someone had told me something different or had cleverly lied to me and made the lie sound like the truth. Through Dr. Jim’s encouragement, patience, and instruction, I learned and developed a biblical perspective that allowed me to more easily recognize a “counterfeit”. But it took time.

Now, if you happen to sit by me on a park bench, I probably won’t be holding a box of chocolates like Forrest, but you might very well hear me say “Dr. Jim sez…”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. (Colossians 3:1-2)

