Delay is not Denial from God

by kingteamdad

These things I plan won’t happen right away. Slowly, steadily, surely, the time approaches when the vision will be fulfilled. If it seems slow, do not despair, for these things will surely come to pass. Just be patient! They will not be overdue a single day!” (Habakkuk 2:3 LB)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Sometimes I feel like God has me on the sidelines, where I anxiously wait to be put in the game.

I wonder how many push ups, curls, presses, lifts, squats, rows, and pullovers a football player does from pee-wee’s to pro? How many plays do they practice, how many hits do they take part in, before they get put in the game, if they get put in the game? Ever watch Forrest Gump, where he is playing football and starts running the wrong way? Lord, help me not be remembered for running the wrong way!

Maybe, life is like a marathon. We train and train, pushing ourselves to be ready for the race. In the race you have people along the way cheering you on. At 13.1 miles you reach the half-way point. Hopefully you are feeling pretty good, if you have been pacing yourself. It’s the ones who get in too big a hurry at the start that sometimes burn out before the finish line. (There’s a sermon in there somewhere.) Around 18-20 miles I always started feeling the fatigue. By 23 or 24 miles I would hit the “wall” and have to mentally get past it. Knowing Kris was at the finish line is what got me through those final few miles.

But, at the finish line I never said “Can I have just a few more miles to run?” I was always used up. That’s how I want my life to be. As God lets me draw my last breath, I want to be all used up doing what He wanted me to do…no matter how long I had to wait until He let me do it….

IMG_0122

For still the vision awaits its appointed time; it hastens to the end – it will not lie. If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay. (Habakkuk 2:39)

