Spiritual Maturity is a Process

by kingteamdad

“You have begun to live the new life, in which you are being made new and are becoming like the One who made you.” (Colossians 3:10a NCV)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad I have definitely decided that God really did wire Kris and I differently. With my job I have had a chance to fly into many parts of the US, and enjoy some great destination spots. Also with my job I like to pride myself in being the most efficient whenever driving and getting to where I am going as quickly as legally possible.

Kris, bless her heart, is not nearly as strategic in her driving. I will sometimes get home in half the time it takes her, coming from the same place. I often grin with pride as I look at my watch when she walks in the door, insinuating “what took you so long?” She always gives me the same answer, “It’s not the destination, it’s the journey”.

Five years ago she talked me into getting an RV. She said some of her fondest memories from childhood involved RV trips. So for three years whenever work called, we loaded up our kids we were homeschooling at the time and took off. I remember heading to California one time, and having to spend the night in one of those “less exciting” states in the middle of our country to have repairs made on the RV. Nothing like a 27 hour delay. Kris on the other hand, finagled someone’s car from the garage, found a movie theatre where we watched a movie, and then found a space alien themed restaurant that the kids still talk about. They were even amused when we got lost and drove through some corn fields for an hour. As my frustration grew, the whole crew kept chiming in with Kris’ mantra, “it’s not the destination, it’s the journey!” :/

The other day Kris and I were talking about the route we each take when driving Evan to school. I hop on the interstate, zip up one exit, hop off, and my third turn is into Evan’s school. Kris told me she goes through town, takes a left and goes down a slow, windy, country road. I asked her “Why?!?” I then explained to her that the obvious way to go, the faster and more efficient way to go, was the interstate. She smiled and told me she had measured and timed both. She agreed that my way had a faster speed limit, but was longer, while her way had a slower speed limit, but was shorter. She went on to tell me they took the same amount of time.

When I asked her why she didn’t take my way with less turns and faster speed limits, her reply was her way went by rolling pastures often complimented with a early morning mist, and beautiful views of the mountain. She mentioned that she and Evan like to talk about what they see in God’s creation (worship) While driving to school they enjoy each other’s presence (fellowship), and she helps him mentally prepare for the day (discipleship).

Think Evan’s relationship is richer with Kris because they take time to smell the roses?

This morning when I take Evan to school, I think I am going to take Kris’ way…

IMG_4175

Father, I pray today that I will not be in such a rush. I pray that I will take the slower route and reflect on You and Your wonderful creation. Help me to not fly by the roses so fast that I fail to smell them. Help me to enjoy the journey You have me on. In Jesus wonderful name, amen

