Hopelessness…Can Lead to Faith

by kingteamdad

David wrote, “I believed, so I said, “I am completely ruined!'” (Psalm 116:10 NCV)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad:  Yesterday we had a great lesson that Kris put together. Our topic was “When we lack control…God is faithful”. It was built around a couple in our class, and their individual testimonies. We talked about their struggles, disappointments, and course corrections. What we talked about emphasized the definition for faithfulness- reliable, trusted, or believed. The lesson really pertained to all of us, because we all go through that kind of “stuff”.

The Hebrew word for faithful as it relates to God and us is “El Hanne’man”, and it means to SUPPORT or NOURISH. Plug that into Deuteronomy 7:9, “Know therefore that the Lord our God is God; He is the faithful God, [He will support and nourish you] keeping His covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love Him and keep His commandments.” Wow! If we love Him and keep His commandments, He promises to keep His covenant for a thousand generations!

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new EVERY morning; great is Your FAITHFULNESS”[support and nourishment].(Lamentations 3:22-23) We read numerous places in Psalm’s where David talked about God, and His love, and His faithfulness, for us. Psalm 89; 1-2 tells us “I will sing of the Lord’s love forever, with my mouth I will make Your faithfulness [support and nourishment] known through all generations. I will declare that Your love stands firm forever, that You established Your faithfulness in heaven itself.”

Do you see how God’s love and faithfulness are linked? They both stand firm forever!

IMG_4048

Father, thank You for being there, loving me, even when I doubt. Thank You for being faithful, wanting to support and nourish me, regardless of my situation, and the hopelessness that I might see. Thank You for being big enough to see and know it all!  In Jesus wonderful name, amen!