You Were Saved to Serve God

by kingteamdad

“God paid a great price for you. So use your body to honor God.” (1 Corinthians 6:20 CEV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Like many other people, I grew up in church. I even led the singing at our little country church while I was working my way through college. My idea of service was getting up on Sunday and leading the singing for morning and night services. I checked that off, and then went about my week.

I finished school and moved away for a few years. I continued to climb that “ladder of success”, and fortunately it brought me back to Atlanta 4 years later. One night in my late 20’s, I went to church to meet a young lady a friend had mentioned. Luckily, that night I met Jesus instead. I begin an ernest search to know this Saviour I had cavalierly heard of and thought little more of for years. God brought a godly woman into my life, (Kris), who I married two years later. About that same time he brought Dr. Jim into my life who, for the next four years, poured himself into me every Monday morning over coffee.

Two years into our marriage God brought another person along to help me on my journey. He was wrapped up like a burrito and weighed less than 7 lbs, but Connor dramatically changed the way I looked at the world, and more importantly, how I saw God looking at me. This baby could do nothing for me, he was totally dependent on us. I still remember changing his first stinky diaper in the hospital, and I changed many more after that. I loved him unconditionally, even when he smelled of a dirty diaper. I held him when he cried. It quickly dawned on me that God loved me even more. And up to that point, I was doing about as much for Him as Connor was for me!

Slowly Connor grew. He was inquisitive and always wanting to learn. In the fifth grade he had the audacity to want to go to Peru on a mission trip. Outside my comfort zone! I was too busy with work and climbing the ladder. No can do!…but 8 weeks later I found myself in Peru with this small 5th grader, who was excited to be there and tell people about Jesus. I only had to tolerate being a tree in a long skit for seven days. (try holding your arms out for 10 minutes!)

By the second day I started looking at life differently. I started seeing the people who had so little, smile at our skit. I saw the tears flowing from the eyes of those who were hurting and hopeless who, for the first time in a long time, were given hope. I started seeing dozens come up afterwards, wanting to have a new life through Christ. It was life changing for them, and for me.

Yeah, we did it again, and again, again. I think we went to Peru 4 times, Colombia once, and to West Virginia twice. Connor went without us, to Arkansas, Panama, and back to Colombia. I’ve watched our oldest grow into an incredible young man. More than once I’ve seen him moved by a need, and give all he had. He loves being around kids (kinda like Jesus used to do). No, He is not perfect, he makes mistakes, gets in trouble every now and then, but for the most part, Connor is an awesome Christian young man! I am so thankful to have him as a son, and now as a friend and brother in Christ. Who would have “thunk” a little burrito could have such an impact on teaching this old guy about service.

I love you Connor King….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. (Romans 12:1)

