Serving Should Define Your Life

by kingteamdad

This much is certain: The greatest thing each person can do is to give himself to God utterly and unconditionally—weakness, fears, and all. For God loves obedience more than good intentions or second-best offerings, which are all too often made under the guide of weakness.Provocations: Spiritual Writings of Kierkegaard

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad  One of the verses I memorized early on in my weekly meeting with Dr. Jim was Romans 12:1. The NKJV says “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.

In this verse Paul is pleading to the Christians in Rome to “present” their bodies as a living sacrifice. I read the word not as a verb, where you sacrifice something, but as a noun, where we are the sacrifice. He then goes on to say we need to be holy and acceptable to God. I am no rocket scientist, but that sounds like we need to be as “clean” as possible. Some of us have a little more cleaning to do then others, to make ourselves acceptable.

The thing that really hit me in memorizing this is the last part, where we are told it is our “reasonable” service. Meaning this is what is expected, not considered exemplary, but reasonable. I for one have to confess that I have gotten very comfortable in being a follower of Jesus, when it is convenient. Paul says, “no, no, no”, when convenient is not enough.

I have to stop thinking of it as a verb, “when I offer a sacrifice”. I have to continually remind myself that I am a noun, “I am a living sacrifice”. That doesn’t sound near as attractive to me. Yet Paul tells us it is our reasonable service. That sounds like a lifestyle to me. Rick Warren says, “The mature follower of Jesus stops asking, “Who’s going to meet my needs?” and starts asking, “Whose needs can I meet?” That is not the mindset of the world around us!

When more of us start living our lives sacrificially like that, people will begin to take notice, and want to know what makes us different….

Father, help me live my life today in a sacrificial way, so that those watching will see Jesus in my life. Help me be a stepping stone for people to find You, and not a stumbling block.  In Jesus name, Amen.

PC250214.JPG

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:1-2

 

