God Made You to Make A Difference

by kingteamdad

God . . . has created us for a life of good deeds, which he has already prepared for us to do.” (Ephesians 2:10 TEV)

Ramblings from Kris’ husband – I am reminded of the story in the Gospels of Jesus walking along the countryside. He comes to a fig tree and finds no fruit. I am sure the fig tree was pretty to look at with its new green leaves. Maybe it even offered a little shade from the heat of the sun. But it did not do what it was made to do. The Bible says Jesus cursed the tree. The next day when they walked back by it, the disciples noticed it had withered from the roots. Jesus did not flippantly curse the fig tree because it wasn’t producing fruit early in the spring. He cursed the tree because it should have been growing fruit since it had the outward signs of productivity. He knew the fruit appeared the same time the leaves did.

My beautiful bride chastised me yesterday. She told me that the joy I normally exhibited, has been replaced at times with grumpiness. I of course took it like a man…and went and sulked at the doctors office for several hours. I came home with a prescription and promptly discounted the grumpiness to being sick.:) She countered that I must have been sick for months. :/

Obviously, I need to go back and read some of these and apply them personally, again! Are we facing struggles and going through storms like those around us? Sure we are. We are facing pressures with our company, the economy, health, etc. We have 3 teenagers now, and are not so worried about diapers and colic, but instead things like college, and leaving the nest. I have all the excuses from the world’s view, for being a little more grumpy or short fused. I am afraid though, from God’s view, I have been failing miserably.

As a follower of Jesus, I should be filled with the fruit of the spirit, so I can be used by Him. Sure believers go through storms, too. But our faith in Him, should minimize the grumps, and I fear I have not been practicing what I was preaching. The grumpiness says I am not trusting God enough, and bearing a lot less fruit. The “good deeds” from Ephesians 2 that are our service to the world, unfortunately, have been fewer with me lately. Whenever we serve others in any way, we are actually serving God. My chastisement by my best friend (which by the way, I’m sure wasn’t easy), points out that I have not been serving Him as much as I should be.

I need to make sure I am living a fruitful life for my Redeemer. I sure don’t want Jesus walking by and mistaking me for a barren fig tree….

P9120154

Father please forgive my doubts. Please help me remember that You don’t promise to keep us away from the storms, but You do promise to go through them with us.  Fill me with Your joy and peace and love, so I can be used by You. I pray those looking at me, will want what I have, and not try to avoid it. I pray that I can be used by You today.  In Jesus name, amen.

 

