God Makes YOU New

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad   When the kids were much younger, 4-6 years old, they were often scared at bedtime. They didn’t understand that we were usually on the other side of their door, in the den. I would go into their room and explain that God had a guardian angel in the room with them, guarding them. Sometimes I would stand on the foot of their bed, stand as tall and big as I could, and say there was a real angel doing just that. We got to the point that each kid named their angel. We would talk about how much the angel loved them, because the angel loved God, and they knew God loved them. After a while, the kids were able to visualize their angel watching over them. Every night at prayer time, we would thank God for the angels that watched over them. Once they were able to visualize their new identity with an angle, they typically had a much easier time going to sleep.

Am I that different as an adult? How often do I feel beat up (or frightened) by the world with the economy, political strife, our business, cash flow, and health issues, just to name a few. I was very small for my age when I was a adolescent and teenager. I was made fun of and called names like “shrimp” and “shorty”. Fortunately I was pretty good in baseball (or at least in my own eyes). When things got rough with name calling, I would remind myself  ” I am a great baseball player”. When I got picked on and bullied, I would remind myself  “I am a great baseball player”. Let me tell you when I got out on the field to practice, I would attack it like it was the 7th game of the World Series. I went all out in practice, always giving it 110%! Why? Because that was my identity.

What would I look like today if I carried that same mindset, but instead of reminding myself I am a great baseball player, I reminded myself that I am a forgiven child of the King of Kings! Would I consistently have a different outlook on life? When the news reports that the economy is going south, I need to remind myself that I am a child of the King of Kings! When our company is having a rocky time, I need to remind myself that I am a child of the King of Kings! When the doctor says we have a health issue, I need to remind myself that I am a child of the King of Kings!

Shouldn’t I be attacking life, and the spiritual battles, like I used to attack the ball field? Striving to do my best because of who I am, a child of the King of Kings?!?…

Father, do Your deepest work in my life. Help me deal with my identity – who I am, the way I see myself, my self-perception. You know I will always tend to act according to the way I think about myself. So Father give me a paradigm shift, and let me see me, as You do. Thank You for not giving up on me. Thank You for loving me enough to not leave me where I am!  Thank You that roughly 2000 years ago Mary was getting ready to have a precious baby. A baby that You sent here to die in my place!

Disney Cruise 2006 031

Then He said, “Your name shall no longer be called Jacob, but Israel, for you have striven with God and with men, and have prevailed.”  (Genesis 32:28)

