Confession Leads to Transformation

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Evan’s dad-  The story about Jacob and Esau has always been a story that bothered me. A younger brother, with his mom’s help, steals the blessing of his older brother. But I guess it makes sense if your name means “deceiver“.  Years later he has to admit or confess that to the angel of God. I think Jacob was holding on for dear life, afraid that if he let go, his brother would kill him the next day. Confessing and then asking, pleading, hanging on for dear life-sincerity, got him a a new lease on life. The angel said your new name is Israel, or  “God will prevail“.

We all have flaws. Some of us are blessed with more than others. Every night I try to pray with each of our kids individually. I want it to be one of the last things they hear before going off to sleep. Often I thank God for the way He made them. It is no accident that God made each of them the way He did.  Their strengths and weaknesses, personalities, temperaments, and physical characteristics, are all specially designed by God. When I pray, I thank Him for those strengths, those weaknesses, and the way He wired them. I pray that whatever those weaknesses are, like Paul and his thorn in the side, that the weaknesses make them lean on Him. My desire is those three precious kids will always know how special they are, but at the same time know how totally inadequate they are without Him!

Imagine how bad Superman could have been if he used his strength for evil. Everyone would have had to keep some Kryptonite in their pocket, or around their neck. Seriously, are we that different?  If we have placed our hope and faith in Christ, aren’t we plugged into a power infinitely greater than Superman?  I am not looking to jump over a tall building in a single bound, but I do desire to be a prayer warrior. I want to put a “frowny-face” on the demons around me. But to do that, I have to remember the defects I am built with. Thank goodness I am not a car, or I would have been recalled years ago!  I was given enough of them that it is easy to remember how badly I need my Heavenly Father and His power.

Father, thank You for loving me enough to lift me up out of the sin I was wallowing in, clean me off, and make me usable by You.  Please forgive me for all my mistakes I made yesterday, and will make again today.  Thank You for knowing how badly I would fail You over and over again, and still loving me enough to let Your Son die for me. In His name I pray, amen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then he said, “Let me go, for the day has broken.” But Jacob said, “I will not let you go unless you bless me.” And he said to him, “What is your name?” And he said, “Jacob.” Then he said, “Your name shall no longer be called Jacob, but Israel, for you have striven with God and with men, and have prevailed.”  (Genesis 32:26-28)

