God’s Rescue Often Takes Time…

by kingteamdad

“What you and I might rate as an absolute disaster, God may rate as a pimple-level problem that will pass. He views your life the way you view a movie after you’ve read the book. When something bad happens, you feel the air sucked out of the theater. Everyone else gasps at the crisis on the screen. Not you. Why? You’ve read the book. You know how the good guy gets out of the tight spot. God views your life with the same confidence. He’s not only read your story…he wrote it.” ― Max Lucado

RAMBLINGS from Connor’s dad – There have been numerous times when I saw one of the kids pick something up to do or put together, without reading the directions. I would point out reading the directions might help, or maybe even start to offer advice. But in the excitement of the moment, they “instinctively knew what to do”…not! Later, they would see their impatience led to problems. They said they were sorry. I said that I forgave them. But they still had to work through their bad choice. It wasn’t magically made right.

Am I really any different? How often do I get in too big a hurry, and rush ahead of God, not taking time to read His directions or listen to His voice, and later realize I have a problem. Then God has the audacity to not get in a hurry to get me out of the jam, I got myself into.

So that’s why He hasn’t fixed things?!?…I am slow sometimes, but things are starting to make sense. Maybe it’s not God being slow, maybe, just maybe, its me being slow.

Father, I know I have made bad decisions. I know that I don’t always look to You before acting. Please forgive me for my impatience and sinful self. Help me open my eyes in those circumstances and learn to wait on You. Even if the answer continues to be “No”…

IMG_2159

For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil. (Genesis 3:5 ESV)

