With God, You Are Capable

by kingteamdad

“Knowing what’s right doesn’t mean much unless you do what’s right.”  ― Theodore Roosevelt 

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – Just before Evan was born, I remember at one of our Monday morning breakfast’, Dr. Jim and I were talking about ministry. He seemed to be doing more ministry than medicine, with all the men he was meeting with one on one.

I asked him why didn’t go ahead and retire from his practice and go into the ministry full-time. He looked at me incredulously and replied, “But who would support the people I help support? And I would need people to support me, and possibly take support away from those I support now…and besides, I am already in ministry full-time. Whatever I do, I do to the best of my ability, honoring God in the process. So regardless what it is, its ministry.”  (I didn’t suggest that idea again.:)

But he did make a valid point. Whatever we Christians do in life, we are called to be a witness. Whether we clean floors, or own the buildings those floors are in. Whether we are the patient or the doctor, we are to live our life 24/7 so that people see Jesus in us. Hopefully, they will see a big enough contrast to ask us what makes us different. When they do, we should be like a witness on the stand in a trial. and give an account of what we know first hand happened and the transformation that took place in us. Hopefully, they will see the need they have, and the gift that God offers.

Because of Dr. Jim’s mindset rubbing off on me, like him, I try to tithe not only my money, but also my time.

He often reminded me that wherever I was, I might very well be the only “Bible” they would read that day. He taught me to pray that I’d leave the “aroma of Jesus” everywhere I went.

My prayer today is that I leave a sweet smell behind me…and that I DON”T stink things up!….

IMG_4568

Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord, nor of me his prisoner, but share in suffering for the gospel by the power of God, who saved us and called us to a holy calling, not because of our works but because of His own purpose and grace, which He gave us in Christ Jesus before the ages began, (2Timothy 1:8-9)

