God Says You Are Accepted

by kingteamdad

“The greatest joys in life are found not only in what we do and feel, but also in our quiet hopes and labors for others.”
― Bryant McGill

Ramblings from Connor’s dad-  My goal as a young adult was always to get to a place in life where I drove a nice 7 series BMW, while wearing my designer clothes and Presidential Rolex, to the country club I would be a member of in good standing. I guess that was my drive to be accepted, figuring that image would be considered successful by the world’s standards.

A strange thing happened several years ago. Connor and I went on our first mission trip to Peru. We got there and hung out with the locals in a very poor area. We were stunned at how little they had. The second day we were there, Connor asked why so many people in Peru took the bus. I explained they didn’t have their own car, and that was how they got around. He was shocked to find out that everyone did not have several cars at their house.

A week later we were back home. Connor and I felt so guilty for all the stuff we had as Americans, and, how much of it we didn’t need. That trip helped recalibrate some of my thinking. I wasn’t so preoccupied with things like new BMW’s. I would have settled for a used one (low mileage)..:)

Seriously, maybe these hard financial times we are going though is God’s way of trying to get us to de-clutter, simplify our lives, and spend less time with stuff, and more time with Him.

One thing I did notice while in Peru, was how happy the local Christians were. You know, the one’s that had very little. The one’s living in cardboard houses, like Fernando.

No indoor bathroom.

No car.

Not even a bike.

But every time we saw him and the others, they were wearing the biggest smiles.

They had so little…or did they?…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“but God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8 ESV)

