Everybody Surrenders to Something

by kingteamdad

So give yourselves completely to God.” (James 4:7 NCV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad When I consider spiritual surrender, I think back to Connor recognizing his need for Christ when he wa 8 years old. So often when they are that young, you are excited, but you also wonder if they really knew what they were doing.

Those of us who believe in eternity, heaven and hell, want to be as positive as we can for our kids. Nightly I thank God for the blessings He’s given us. I pray for our kids and their spiritual growth. As they have grown in to their teenage years, God has been good. They have pushed me to go on mission trips. They inspire me to try and walk the walk, while I talk the talk. They have given me some of my deepest conversations about our faith.

Last night we were talking about having doubt. Kris encouraged them to always come to us with any doubts or questions. We both talked about how we went through periods of doubt in our younger years. We had questioned our faith. We studied other religions. We both read books. And when the dust settled, we were even more confident of our faith and our salvation.

We reminded the kids that Christianity is not about a religion, it’s about a relationship. And to develop any relationship, you have to spend time with that individual. We won’t develop our relationship with God without reading His word, prayer, AND listening.

I remember the night I surrendered my life to Christ. Since that night it has been an ongoing struggle as the carnal Ted constantly wants to revert back to doing things his way. Selfishness starts to sneak back in. Pride rears its ugly head. If I don’t spend time every morning surrendering, again, to God, I quickly try to take things over. I start worrying about things that haven’t happened yet, and often never do. It’s so easy for me to mentally revert back to “being in control”. The mornings I remember to make an effort to surrender everything back to my Heavenly Father, are the days I hopefully have a family resemblance (ever so small) to my Savior….

P9140207

Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. (Philippians 2:5-7)

