Surrender Strengthens You

by kingteamdad

And He died for all so that those who live should no longer live for themselves, but for the One who died for them and was raised.” (2 Corinthians 5:15 HCSB)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad Last week Evan joined the only Jr. ROTC program in the country for homeschoolers. The retried Colonel is an incredibly likable Christian. In talking to him we found out he served two tours in IRAQ prior to his retirement. I am sure he has lots of stories he could tell.

The day Evan decided to join, Kris and I took him to get a haircut. This was not the typical haircut! Evan over the summer had grown a full mane looking like a model sporting a surfer-dude style from the coast. On top of that he had a nice stand of whiskers growing on his chin, and some long sideburns. But the words of the Colonel echoed in my ears, “hair just needs to be off the collar, off the ears, and above the eyes.” In Evan’s mind he might as well have said shave your head.

As we walked out from getting his PAINFUL hair cut, I hurt for Evan. I saw the mortified look he had from his new appearance. Yet when I asked him was he sorry he was going in to ROTC, his reply surprised me as he answered “No sir”.

I discovered Evan was still committed. Even after the pain of loosing his mane! At that moment my son impressed me even more because he did not let his pain keep him from the task ahead of him. And for a 15 year old boy, a drastic hair cut is true pain!

I hope that whenever God asks me to do something, even after weighing the cost, I will be like Evan willing to do it no matter how uncomfortable, inconvenient, costly, or painful it might be.

After all, Jesus certainly didn’t back down whenever He was asked!….

IMG_4560

For none of us lives to himself, and none of us dies to himself. For if we live, we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord. So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s. (Romans 14:7-8)

