Surrender Is The Heart Of Worship

by kingteamdad

Surrender evokes the unpleasant images of admitting defeat in battle, forfeiting a game, or yielding to a stronger opponent. The word is almost always used in a negative context.

Ramblings from Kris’ husband – The upcoming election is on my mind. The candidate I am rooting for has had many negative things said about him by the other side. Often I don’t think it’s true, and I feel like he is being maligned by his opponents’ side. Their supporters chime in and regurgitate what they hear, assuming it’s correct, often not verifying what they hear, in essence giving bad “advice”.

I think the same is true in the spiritual realm where again, there are 2 sides. The difference is that our election, although important, is temporary because it is only of this world. The spiritual, if I am correct, is eternal. When we are being drawn to God, the enemy will do all he can to discourage us.

We get bad advice from the misinformed.
You don’t want to do that! You are just being weak!
God doesn’t care!
He doesn’t love you!
You can do this yourself.
Your strong enough, you don’t need Him.

We are hearing this because the enemy understands that if we humble ourselves and tap into God, we can wreak havoc on his plans. I know there have been many times where pridefully I believed I didn’t need God and could do it myself. I was too proud to admit I made another mistake. 100% of the time I was wrong.

Now when I pray, I try to do so with me hands open, palms facing up. Mentally giving everything, including my precious family, to Him. It is in those prayers that I feel surrendered. Submitting everything to Him! The times I have that attitude in worship, at home or at church, are the times I am truly able to worship.

The times I am more worried about the way I look, or who see’s me, those are the times I get very little out of the worship. It’s obviously the speaker’s fault!…right?….

IMG_3748

Do not present your members to sin as instruments for unrighteousness, but present yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life, and your members to God as instruments for righteousness. For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace. (Romans 6:13-14)

