Work To Please God, NOT people

by kingteamdad

“Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically.” (Romans 12:11 NLT)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – The other day I was talking with Connor about my mentor Dr. Jim Lyons. I was talking about his attention and enthusiasm with the most menial parts of surgery. He spent as much time sewing someone up, as he did opening them up and doing the surgery. He did it to honor God.

I also learned from him that no matter how hard the day, he came home and washed the dishes from where his wonderful wife would have cooked dinner. No matter how bad his day had been at the hospital. No matter how little sleep he had gotten the night before. He did it to be Christlike and honor God.

Many times Kris and I would have a function at our home and the Lyons’ would be in attendance. Inevitably, I would find Dr. Jim in the kitchen cleaning up, washing dishes, sweeping, whatever needed to be done. (No matter how long he had been up delivering babies. Or doing surgery. Or counseling and praying with couples who had lost a baby in pregnancy.) He did it because that is what Christ would have done, and to honor God.

Always with a smile!

Always with excellence!

When people look at me I want them to see Jesus…today…I’d settle for Dr. Jim!

IMG_1165

Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. (Romans 12:11)

