Maintaining Physical Health

by Ted King

Rick Warren sez – Maintaining Physical Health

Love is exhausting. It is work to really love. Most people don’t understand that their physical condition has a strong impact on their relationships and their ability to love.

What happens to your relationships when you’re run down? Little issues become big problems when you’re tired. You’re more cranky, defensive, and critical when you’re physically low.

What are some habits the Bible says will physically refresh you?

Rest – “It’s senseless for you to work so hard from early morning till late at night. God wants you to get your proper rest.” (Psalm 127:2 LB) Sometimes the most spiritual thing you can do is just get some rest. It’s amazing how much better things look after a good night’s sleep. Many of you are too tired to love your kids, too tired to love your husband, and too tired to love your wife.

Balanced Diet–”You made my body, Lord, now give me the sense to heed Your laws.” (Psalm 119:73 LB) It’s a no-brainer, but choosing fruits and vegetables over chips and cookies will give us more sustained energy.

Regular Exercise–”Honor God with your body.” (1 Corinthians 6:20 NIV) Our bodies were made for activity. In Bible times they didn’t have to exercise; they walked everywhere, they did physical work. But most of us have sedentary lives, and we drive everywhere. Yet, you really only have two choices in life: fatigue or fitness. Fitness involves regular exercise.

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – The kids love to point out to me the days I appear to miss my quiet time. Apparently I don’t have the patience and tone of voice (love) they’d prefer me to have when dealing with them.  When I look at reasons for missing my quiet time, several things come to mind.

Rest- There are some mornings when I went to bed too late the night before. I wake up tired and sleepy (and some might wrongly say grumpy) from not getting enough rest.  That impacts me mentally, physically, emotionally, and yes, even spiritually.  I have less patience, seemingly less love, and frankly, probably, less Jesus.

Balanced Diet – There is so much I don’t know about nutrition. I do know that if kept fairly balanced, we should do better. Our bodies need protein, carbs, and even some fat, in our regular diet. Is my spiritual diet any different?  I have some buddies who love to listen to sports, all the time. I love to listen to Fox News on the radio or watch it on tv, and sometime find myself listening to it for hours without interruption.  If Connor hops in the car, he will ask if he can change it. The reason is he tells me it’s depressing. Hmm, is there something to that?  Maybe I need to balance my intake with a little less bad news, and a little more “good” news?  If I do, when I climb out of the car, maybe I will look a little less like Ted, and a little more like Jesus.

Regular exercise – We are in the middle of softball season. Three times the other night in our game I scored from 2nd base. Each time I was a little winded from the sprint. This is with trying to be diligent and exercise 2-3 times a week.  How much harder would it have been if I didn’t exercise other then in the games?  How much easier might it be if I exercised 5-6 times a week?  Is spiritual exercise any different?  How effective will I be as a Christian if the only time I focus on Jesus is Sunday morning?  How much healthier will I be spiritually if I work on it 2-3 times a week?  I wonder what we would look like if we focused on it 4-5 times a week?  Think our friends and family would see our Saviour more often?…